Fitness Friday – Recovery

It’s not easy being sick. Yes, you lay on the couch in your pajamas and watch TV for days but somehow it’s just not as fun when you feel like crap. This week I realized that it’s even harder to get back to your healthy lifestyle than it is to be sick in the first place. Here are my top five tips for how to get back to fitness after illness:

Make sure you’re ready.
I have not gone jogging because I still can’t take a deep breath without going into a coughing fit. I could only imagine what a run would do to me.

Be nice to yourself.
Do not beat yourself up because you can’t do now what you were doing a couple of weeks ago. Your body is tired and weak; it’s going to take some time. It won’t do any good to call yourself a pathetic weak loser, trust me, I tried it.

Go easy/Lift lighter.
Do not make the mistake of trying to lift the same weight or do the same exercise that was super challenging before you got sick; the only thing that’s going to do is piss you off and make you want to quit.

Take your time.
You will need more rest in-between each set than you did before and that’s okay. There’s no need to hurt yourself after you’ve just gotten back in the game.

Know that your body remembers your routine.
My first workout felt a lot like the first time I ever worked out. This made me think that I had reverted back to square one. By my second workout however I was back to lifting the same weight as before. Do not let your mind trick you into thinking you should give up. Your body knows better.

Until next week – a selfie since since I’ve been slacking on pictures 😉

One thought on “Fitness Friday – Recovery

Leave a Reply

