Fitness Friday – Tantrum

I was going to title this week’s post “Fitness Friday – Relapse” but the definition of relapse is way too serious. So, I sat at my desk and relived Monday evening and I decided Tantrum was more appropriate.

Here’s what happened:

Kenny and I have these conversations a lot and never actually do it. Well, Monday proved to be a different story. We sat in our booth and considered leaving. The waiter hadn’t been over yet and I was starting to feel guilty. He showed up though, and before I knew it I was ordering Alfredo dipping sauce and waiting on the warm bread sticks with childish anticipation.

Here’s what I discovered during this whiny, “I want what I want and I’m going to have it!” spoiled brat outing.

  1. Everything does not taste differently after you’ve given it up.
    • I have heard so many people say that things don’t taste good after you haven’t eaten them for x amount of time. Apparently I have not yet reached that magical number because the chocolate mousse on top of the chocolate cheesecake that was sitting in a dark chocolate crumble crust with chocolate chips in it, still tasted freakin delightful.
  2. After 4 months without sweets, I can still finish an entire dessert.
    • There’s none of this “oh it’s so rich, I can only have a couple of bites” nonsense. That cake was gone, that plate was clean and anyone who saw me eating it probably thought I was auditioning for an adult film.
  3. Your stomach changes faster than your taste buds. All of that food tasted a lot better than it felt.
  4. If you jump off the wagon and eat yourself into a hole, you can use the upper body strength you’ve worked so hard for to pull yourself out. It doesn’t have to be an excuse to throw in the towel.

The next day,  I went to a work function that ended with dinner. After the entrees, everyone got up and served themselves cake, pie, coffee ice-cream (my favorite) and brownies. I sipped my club soda and tried not to creepily stare at the woman in front of me while she ate a little bit of everything. The spoiled brat on my shoulder (it’s not a demon – it’s an annoying fat kid) was trying to tell me that I already messed up, I ate cake the night before so I might as well eat a brownie. Well, the badass fitness chick on my other shoulder told the fat kid to shove it and I left, dessert free and in control again.

After my deliciously terrible outing on Monday I got an alert that I had been tagged on Facebook:


Jessica, if it wasn’t for this, I may have eaten the brownie and coffee ice-cream, so thank you! You are equally as badass if not more so for doing it all with two kids at home!

 

Lastly, my mother posted a picture of me yesterday in my new dress. I thought I’d let you all know I almost didn’t buy it because it was pretty tight around my massive bicep muscles 😉

Until next week,

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – Tantrum

  1. Anotger great article, Adrienne! And you are learning the art of moderation. And it is an art. The cake is meant to be enjoyed like an adult film star! I ate a candy bar (just a little one) the other day with the same fervor. Just not every day. Keep us the great work on everything you are doing!!

Leave a Reply

