Fitness Friday – 100 Followers

I got this awesome alert the other day from my WordPress App:

100

Thank you all so much for following, liking, commenting and sharing. There have been days where I’ve considered skipping my work out or eating a doughnut and then I remember I have all of you to answer to so I turn off Downton Abbey, get off the couch and get my butt in gear. I really appreciate all of your support and encouragement along my journey to be sexier, oops, I mean healthier 😉
Thank you!!


The Food:

The other day I was craving Mexican food like there was no tomorrow (fake – unhealthy – American/Mexican food). I searched online for healthy enchiladas and all the recipes involved making every single part of the meal yourself. There was a sauce recipe, a seasoning recipe, a tortilla recipe… Hell, there was probably a way to make your cheese culture on there but I didn’t read that far. I wanted something quick and I wanted it right then. Instead of going to the local Mexican restaurant I went to the grocery store.
I ended up with a taco salad. There was lean, grass-fed ground beef on sale, I got lettuce, pico de gallo, guacamole, jalapenos and I used a little bit of cheese. I also found these awesome ingredients: 


It took a minute to find taco seasoning without added sugar. I did not find this in with all the taco products (I mean, why would I?) but over with the gravy and chili mixes.
  salsa
When labels say things like this, I still read the ingredients. Just because it doesn’t contain “added sugar” doesn’t mean that there isn’t stevia, agave nectar, honey or some other natural sweeteners added. Fortunately, Drew’s truly was unsweetened!
I threw all of this stuff in a bowl together with a few black bean tortilla chips and boom! I felt like I was eating a bowl of junk food. It was delightful.


The Work Out

On Saturday I finally reached 5 pull-ups!!!


Yes, the last one was strained, my mouth was open and I didn’t think I was going to make it but I did – pretty or not.

I went jogging after leg day – Mistake.

My workout last night consisted of decline dumbbell bench presses. I’ve incorporated these because I really want to work the lower part of my chest. These look incredibly awkward and they are. They feel pretty good once you’re in position though.

  

My current max out (kind of) weight with the barbell:
Squats – 165lbs – 3 reps
Bench Press – 125lbs – 2 reps
Dead Lifts – I don’t want to talk about it 😉

Please check out the recipe tab where I’ve added another PurelyFruit recipe and my updated “Who’s Blogging” page.

Have a great weekend everyone! 😀 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – 100 Followers

  1. Did you see the recipe that used cauliflower to make the tortilla? I will try it …… someday. I’m like you, quick and easy.

Leave a Reply

