Fitness Friday-Survive Vacation

“Is your diet really sustainable?”

The two common definitions for the word ‘diet’ are:

  1.  
    the kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats.
  2.  
    a special course of food to which one restricts oneself, either to lose weight or for medical reasons.

When people refer to my new ‘diet’ I always assume they are using the second definition of the word. Today though, I’m going to answer the question as if it were asked like this;

“Is your new lifestyle really sustainable?”

In short… Yes.
Is it hard? Sure.
Does it seem or feel impossible at times? Definitely!
But does that mean it’s not worth fighting for? No.

Adrienne’s Guide to Fighting for your Lifestyle while on Vacation:

If your vacation is going to start with a road trip, prepare!

How to prepare: Shop, dehydrate, pack and plan for the worst. What do I mean by the worst? I mean plan to step out of your car to get gas and be located right next to your favorite fast-food restaurant which makes the entire city smell like fried heaven and then say “no, I don’t eat that.” How do you plan or prepare for that? You pack a lot of snacks.

Here is an example of a road trip survival snack kit: Kale chips, sweet potato chips, squash and zucchini chips.

kale img_3503
img_3505
I also had nuts, seltzer and fruit.

Next, be prepared to stop and spend money.

Eventually snacks aren’t enough, when you reach this point stop at a grocery store that you know has a great deli (Publix, Whole Foods, Kroger, etc.) and spend some money. We purchased turkey, lentil salads (already prepared and no added sugar) and macadamia nuts (which were twenty dollars a pound by the way).

Look hot in the car!
Wear heels and good pants or whatever makes you feel like a foxy lady (or man). Trust me, you don’t want to eat nearly as much when you’re not wearing sweat pants.

Once on vacation do not try to disengage with technology by leaving your cell phone behind. I found myself very hungry on the beach surrounded by taco stands and hot dog joints. My phone directed me to a salad with shrimp, avocado and mango – definitely a healthier choice that was also delicious.

Lastly and most importantly don’t feel guilty. If you’re visiting family or friends they will want to feed you. They will offer you dessert and treats. As generous and sweet (did you see what I did there?) as this is, do not feel guilty saying no. You will never survive if you’re plagued with guilt for trying to be a healthier you.

 

On another note, my birthday was amazing. It did not involve any cake. It did however involve new Under Armour sneakers, workout clothes, healthy snacks and an entire new weight bench, weight set and a squat/bench rack!!! Here’s a picture of my spoiled self on my birthday using my new selfie stick and wearing my new kicks 😉

img_3549

Next weeks post will be filled with pictures of the new equipment!

Thanks for reading and thanks for following 🙂

Leave a Reply

