Fitness Friday – Others

This week has been so crammed pack full of goodness that I’m not sure where to start. I guess the best place would be the beginning.

After posting on Friday, my sister’s girlfriend fiance Jess, texted me to see if I wanted to go to Richmond with her for the weekend. Naturally, I left work early, threw 7 pairs of shoes in a bag (even though we were only going for 2 days) and hit the road with her.
She started down the *Purely Fruit path about five weeks ago. Her car was stocked with tons of healthy snacks; kale chips, nuts, fruit, boiled eggs and seltzer water. It was awesome to spend five hours with someone who understands the struggles of reading every label, using caution at every restaurant and having to answer all of the whys and the “do you think you can actually do that long term” questions.
The struggles are worth it. We both feel better, psychically and mentally, everything tastes sweeter and we’re both seeing big results.

Is it possible long term? I hope so, because I haven’t felt this good in a long time.

Richmond was filled with beards and bicycles. I’ve never seen so many fit hipsters in my life. The city’s vibe inspired me to do some push-ups in my hiking boots in front of graffiti so that I would fit in (or I just saw a good blog photo opportunity and took it)

It was a fun weekend!

On Monday I had my first weight-training session with J. Honestly, I forget how awkward of a person I am until I’m put in a situation that I’ve never been in before. I’ve never taught anyone how to exercise. I’m the fat kid who hated all things fitness related. The girl who would cry in her room for two hours after her mom tried to take her to gymnastics. In other words, this was completely foreign to me. We got through it though and on Wednesday everything was much smoother. He dislikes the same things I do (cardio and the gym) so hopefully he’ll end up liking weight lifting. We shall see!

My week ended with two awesome text messages;

  image1
(these are the messages that keep me motivated and inspired) 

& a hair cut

Please check out my new Recipe tab. I will be sharing some different Purely Fruit recipes every week (hopefully).
Thanks for reading. Thanks for following (I’m 5 follows away from 100!!)


A fun before and after to leave you with 🙂

*Purely Fruit is the name I decided to use for how I’m eating. I could not find any title for people who are not using sugar, honey, maple syrup, agave nectar, rice syrup or any of the other 57 names of sugar/sweeteners. It’s not primal, paleo, gluten free, it’s Purely Fruit. 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – Others

Leave a Reply

