Fitness Friday – Listen

This week has been full of huge smiles, lots of blushing and just an overwhelming feeling of humility and appreciation.

On Saturday my sister started poking my butt (if you’ve met Anne,  you know this isn’t anything shocking or abnormal) 
“What are you doing?” I asked.
“Your butt… It seems higher.” she replied.
“Yeah!” I said.
“How did you do that?!”
“Squats Anne. Lots and lots of squats.”

On Sunday I was asked fitness/weight-lifting advice from someone who has been lifting a lot longer than I have.

On Monday a family friend (who is more into fitness than anyone I’ve ever met) asked me to teach her son how to weight lift!! We’re going to start on Monday.

There are times where you will be unable to see your own progress; in those moments (that can last for weeks or months) listen to the people around you, listen to their encouragement, their compliments and even their questions. They wouldn’t ask for advice if they didn’t see you progressing. They see what you can’t. They believe in you, even when you’re struggling to believe in yourself.
If you don’t have these people in your life, find them! They are a requirement for success.

Don’t worry, I won’t leave you without photos.


(showing off my chin up skills after Valentine’s Day dinner)

My least favorite workout since I started this weight-lifting venture is rows. Every single kind of row; dumbbell rows (one arm/both arms/bent over), cable row (rope/bar/handles) has been the same: miserable. I also haven’t moved up in weight with rows since I started. I do seated dumbbell rows which seems a lot better but the cable rows still hate me! Kenny worked out with me last night and I explained my frustration to him. He watched me do them like this;and started chuckling. When I asked him what I was doing wrong he told me that I was too short for the machine. I wasn’t getting the “full range of motion.”
So now I’m going to try them like this:
If anyone has another idea, please let me know!  

I always try to look cute for my blog post pictures but today I will leave you all with a little piece of reality…

Thanks for reading, encouraging and being a crucial part of my fitness journey ❤

One thought on “Fitness Friday – Listen

  1. Just a thought about your rows: You can use a cinder block (depending on pulley clearance), build a simple box or use anything stable to put more space between your feet and pulley lead. I’m 4’11” and feel your pain 😉

Leave a Reply

