Fitness Friday – One Size

mod•er•a•tion
ˌmädəˈrāSH(ə)n/
noun
1. 1. the avoidance of excess or extremes
synonyms: self-restraint, restraint, self-control, self-command, self-discipline;

I do not moderate. I do not avoid extremes. In fact, I excessively practice extreme things. For example, I quit smoking. I did not use nicotine patches. I did not cut back. I did not start using an e-cigarette. Instead, I quit cold turkey. After a year I decided that moderation could be a possibility. I started taking a drag here and there. A drag turned into a cigarette. In no time at all, I was back to smoking a pack a day. I have quit again, cold turkey. It’s been a little over a month.

In June of 2014, I quit drinking. This was also extreme. That’s what I do; I jump from one extreme to the other. I was an extreme drinker. I can’t count the number of times people told me they had never seen anyone else drink liquor the way I did. You know, the hold the bottle by the handle and tilt it back kind of liquor drinker. I quit. I quit cold turkey. I am a non-drinker.

So now I am applying my inability to moderate to my eating habits. I decided I should not cheat. I should not have cheat days, cheat meals, cheat-treats. If I’m going to eat a piece of cake, it’ll end up being the whole cake. If I’m going to eat a candy bar a day, it will be a family size, not a bite size. I do not want to be an extreme eater, so instead I’m avoiding all added sugar and junk. This is not for everyone. There are people in the world that can have a drag of a cigarette and will never end up smoking a pack a day. There are people who can have one glass of wine without finishing the bottle and then driving to the store to buy another. There are also people who can eat a mini dark chocolate candy bar every night to get their sweet fix without ending up at McDonald’s at 2am buying 3 for $1 chocolate chip cookies with a milkshake to wash them down. I am not one of those people and that’s okay. I am great at extreme restraint from things that I can’t moderate.
It’s been 16 days without added sugar and I’ve lost an inch and a half in my waist already.

The inches that I’ve lost bring me to my next point; we cannot all measure our success by the scale. I have read so many articles that say it’s practically impossible to gain muscle and lose weight at a rate where you will not see a fluctuation in the scale. As in, you will lose weight faster than you will build muscle. The website where I get all of my workout routines and diet advice from says this too. I have lost over 15 inches now. I have lost a cup size. I have dropped a pant size if not two (my current pants are getting loose!)

I asked my husband how much weight he thinks I’ve lost since this whole new fitness journey and he said 20-25 pounds. In seven months I have lost 5 pounds. In the past, this would have been extremely discouraging. The scale and I would have had it out, I would have cried a lot and then I would have drowned my sorrows in a package of Oreo’s. Now however, I have my tape measure. The scale has been replaced and the articles can say what they want about it. I have the photos and the data to prove them wrong.

We are not all the same. One size does not fit all. If cheat days keep you going then by all means, eat that bacon cheeseburger. If the scale moves for you and keeps you motivated then stand on it as many times as you can. But if you find yourself using your cheat day as an excuse to devour three days worth of food in one then take away your cheat day. And if you have stood on the scale every day without results it’s time to invest in a tape measure. We are all succeeding but the paths and results don’t all look the same.

That concludes my intensity for the week.
To add a little lightheartedness, here are some photos of what I do on my rest days.


Bicycle crunches in my pajamas while binge watching Netflix. I followed these up with three sets of calf raises, punches and arm circles. It’s my new Netflix Routine.


This feels as awkward and inappropriate as it looks but rumor has it, it helps with a split. If being ridiculously sore the next day is any indicator that it’s working, I should be able to do a split in no time.

Thanks for following. Thanks for reading. Thanks for being different!

7 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – One Size

  1. I’m no good at moderation either. I’ve had others say I can do the “If it fits your macros” diet, but unfortunately, after that first bite of chocolate, my macros don’t matter. My goals fade for the length of time it takes to eat the total bar, then reality and remorse set in. I am one of your kind. I have to eat my version of clean in order to maintain a healthy weight and stay on top of my training. I really am amazed at people who can stop at one chocolate piece, one chip, etc. But I’ll never be in that group. But my body, mind and spirit are totally okay with that.

    • I knew there were more out there like me! I contemplated writing about this for quite a while before I finally decided that I’m sure I’m not alone and that a lot of people can relate. I’m glad you’re okay with it! I am too! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Being a person who sometimes gravitates towards the extremes herself I can definitely say what has helped me the most is a) having people you don’t want to let down depending on you. I also quit smoking back in 2008 after being a pack a day smoker but it was bc I finally had someone to quit for. b) knowing yourself. I also was a 7 day a week drinker but for me, cutting it out made me want it more so now I have “rules” for myself to avoid over drinking. I’m only allowed one drink and I’m never allowed to drink alone. On special occasions it’s three. I always stick to my rule.

    • Thank you for commenting. It’s awesome when you find what works for you. I tried to moderate on and off with alcohol since before I could legally consume the stuff! One day I just realized it wasn’t for me. Congrats on quitting smoking and on your self-control!

  3. I am the SAME way, I literally have been varying back and forth between extremes my entire life! It’s exhausting and can cause you to loathe yourself on the bad extremes… I guess we just need some grace with ourselves 🙂 Great job on knowing & doing what works best for you! (also, going to try that split thing!)

    • I promise the split feels as awkward as it looks! It seems that all health/fitness or just life in general is trial and error! I’m always happy to find people on the same mission to be fit who can understand the trailing and the error-ing 😉 Thanks for commenting and following!

Leave a Reply

