Fitness Friday – New

Has it really been three weeks since I posted? Are the Holidays actually over? My bank account and credit card statements are telling me yes, they have come and gone. Thank God!

By some miracle I made it through the holidays without gaining a pound and without losing any of my fitness abilities. Part of this could have been because I was randomly doing push-ups whenever I found time, arm wrestling my mother (I LOST!!!) and doing pull ups wherever I could. Either way, I came home and lifted just as heavy as before. 

For the past six-months I have been doing the Beginners Weight Training Routine. Jay’s advice is to do this routine as long as you see improvement or for at least six-months. I was still seeing improvement but I was getting bored. On January 4th I  switched to his Intermediate Muscle Building Routine . I’ve currently done Upper Body A, Lower Body A, Upper Body B and tonight is Lower Body B.
So far, it’s flippin hard!
I know that reading about someone’s specific workouts can be extremely boring but I have embarrassing pictures and there’s nothing dull about that! I had to modify some exercises because I don’t have the equipment and I hate the gym so this week has been an interesting learning experience. I know that eventually I will become as comfortable with this routine as I was with the last one but God I forgot how awkward it is to learn a new exercise while holding extra weight… Well, without further ado;


leg press
So, I don’t have a leg press machine in my house. The first attempt to do this alternative leg-press was against my wall. My walls do not have gloss paint. I got stuck in the seated position with a dumbbell in my lap because I couldn’t slide. I moved to the door. I was sliding just fine and then my hair got stuck behind my back and when I pushed myself up it yanked my hair and pulled my head into the door. My expert advice; find something glossy to put your back on and if you have long hair, tuck it in a beanie! 

This is what weight-training really looks like. This was me doing Tricep Pull-Overs instead of skullcrushers. I do not have a barbell and honestly, I thought this is what a skullcrusher was. As I said, learning experience!
Advice: Have someone close by in case you can’t lift the weight up. I definitely almost dropped it on my last set of 12.

Finally, Kayla wanted to take a picture of my bicep and I couldn’t stop laughing. We have fun. I don’t know where I’d be without such an awesome workout partner!

Glad to be back to blogging! See you all next week.

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – New

  1. If you have already done this I might have overlooked it, but if you haven’t then the fitness nerd in me would love to see a breakdown of your fitness routine. I have just posted my January schedule, if you’re interested in taking a look.

    • Haha! I actually like reading fitness routines as well but I know it’s not for everyone. Yours looks intense! I follow A Workout Routine. I was doing his Beginner’s Workout Routine first and now I just switched to his Upper/Lower Split. I’ve made modifications because I don’t have a barbell. This is what my routine looks like:

      Monday Upper:

      • Dumbbell Bench Press
      3 sets of 8
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      • Rows – seated with my chest against the bench
      3 sets of 8
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      • Incline Dumbbell Press
      3 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      • Lat Pull-Downs – palms faced in like a chin up
      3 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      • Lateral Raises
      2 sets of 10
      1 minute rest between sets.
      • Triceps Press-Downs
      2 sets of 10
      1 minute rest between sets.
      • Dumbbell Curls – Seated with arm on the bench
      2 sets of 10
      1 minute rest between sets.

      Tuesday Lower:
      • Romanian Deadlifts
      3 sets of 8
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      • Leg Press – Alternative leg press against the wall with dumbbell
      3 sets of 10
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      • Standing Leg Curls (still adjusting to these with my machine)
      3 sets of 10
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      • Standing Calf Raises
      4 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      • Abs (random ab workouts for 10 minutes)
      x sets of 8-15 reps.
      1 minute rest between sets.

      Off Wednesday

      Thursday: Upper
      • Pull-Ups – I can do 3 and then switch to lat pull downs
      3 sets (3 and then 5 pull downs)
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      •Barbell Shoulder Press –
      3 sets of 8
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      •Seated Cable Row –
      3 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      •Dumbbell Bench Press
      3 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      •Dumbbell Flyes –
      2 sets of 10
      1 minute rest between sets.
      •Dumbbell Curls
      2 sets of 10-12 reps.
      1 minute rest between sets.
      •Tricep Pull-Overs
      2 sets of 10
      1 minute rest between sets.

      Friday: Lower
      •Squats
      3 sets of 8
      2-3 minutes rest between sets.
      •Goblet Squats
      3 sets of 8
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      •Laying Leg Curls (dumbbell in-between feet laying on bench)
      3 sets of 10
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      •Seated Calf Raises
      4 sets of 10
      1-2 minutes rest between sets.
      •Abs (random ab workouts for 10 minutes)
      x sets of 8-15 reps.
      1 minute rest between sets.

      Off Saturday & Sunday

Leave a Reply

