Fitness Friday – Delayed

Friday was absolutely crazy for me and I apologize for missing my post. I realized that I will also be out of town this coming Friday and said screw it, today is Fitness Friday-Monday 😉

I have never had a fitness partner. I was always too insecure to workout in public or with other people. I didn’t want them to see me sweating like a man, breathing like a 90 year old and lifting like a toddler. So when Kayla and I decided to start working out together I was skeptical, to say the least. I have never improved so much or been so consistent with exercise before in my life. It is so helpful to have someone there to spot you, lift weights off of you before you drop them on your face and guide your left arm (that has a mind of it’s own) to it’s proper place.
Besides just the actual safety aspect of it, she’s freaking nice all the time. I don’t know how it’s possible. Randomly mid-workout she’ll say, “Your arms look awesome! I’m taking a picture” and “You’re a beast! Keep going!” Don’t get me wrong, I’ll get whiny and say I can’t do the last set and she’ll call me a bitch and tell me to get to it, but somehow even that is nice and motivating. My point in all of this? If you don’t have a workout partner, get one. She has made all the difference!

Plus you get texts like this. Watching someone else’s progress is almost as fun as seeing your own.

Highlights from last week in photos:
Made my very first green shake, it was sort of delightful.

My triceps muscle is starting to look intense.

One of the pictures where Kayla said “stop! I’m taking a picture of your arm”

I was not able to wear these pants this summer. That is some pretty great progress.

IMG_2444

Also last week we moved up in weight on almost all of our workouts. Here’s our 11 week progress.

When we started:                             Now:
Squats – 50lbs                                  100lbs
Dead Lifts – 60lbs                             110lbs
Shoulder Press – 30lbs                      60lbs (6 week progress)
Bench Press – 50lbs                           70lbs
Push Ups – 5                                       23
Pull Ups – 0                                           2

We do more than this but I’ve seen more improvement in these specific workouts than in rows, lat pull downs, tricep pushdowns, etc.

So, that’s where I’m at right now. Sorry I missed last Friday and will probably miss this Friday but don’t panic, I’ll be back 😉

6 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – Delayed

    • It was actually really good. I did a cup of kale, a cup of water, a banana, half a cup of frozen raspberries and a scoop of protein powder. I’d say it was a success. I drank one almost every day last week!

Leave a Reply

