Fitness Friday-100 Pounds

So, as the Facebook community knows, on Tuesday I decided to deadlift 100 pounds.
It was like a scene in a boxing movie. I came in the room, put some baby powder on my hands and bounced around a little. I stood in front of the weights I rolled my shoulders a few times and tilted my head from side to side. I took a deep breath and I went for it. Kayla had the camera. As soon as I grabbed the weights I felt my entire body heat up. I got to a full standing position. I was pretty shaky and wasn’t sure how many more I could do but then Kayla said, “Damn! you’re a beast” and I had to keep going. I did 8 reps of 100lbs 3 times. After the last set I tried to spread my hands out and I was convinced that my fingers would never be straight again.
Now, I understand that 100 pounds is not that much and I intend to lift a lot heavier eventually. But I have doubled the weight I can lift in just 6 weeks and that, my friend, is huge!
  
One of the best things about having a workout partner, besides the positive encouragement, is competing with one another. After I finished deadlifting, Kayla said she was going for it too. Let’s just say I wasn’t the only beast in the room that night!
  

Our workout routine consists of doing 3 weight-training days and 2 days of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. As you can tell from the pictures, we both enjoy the weight-training a lot more.

I haven’t measured in awhile. I’ve basically just been focusing on how I feel. I went to grab my love handles the other day and they were gone! I will take that as a sign of progress. I feel better. I’m learning to channel any and all aggression and use it in my workouts. My relationship with food is changing; slowly but surely. Last night we had a pasta cook-off and because I knew I’d be eating a plate full of unhealthy deliciousness, I limited my other meals throughout the day. I’m just trying to make small changes that will stick. As for weights, I’m going for big changes and serious strength. I’m having fun and I can honestly say this is the first time I’ve enjoyed fitness so much.

Leave a Reply

