Fitness Friday-Progress and Thanks

Yesterday my timehop alerted me that one year ago I posted Throwing Away the Cookie Jar. I closed the app and sat furious with myself for a while. I was saying all sorts of nonsense in my head;
“You suck”
“You should’ve stuck with it for the whole year”
“You look exactly the same”
And then I decided to shut that bitch down.
Yes I’ve fallen off the health bandwagon a few times.Β However, throughout the year I have accomplished and learned more about fitness than any previous year. I ran a 5k. I tried paleo for a couple months. I tried and completed Whole30. I just finished Isagenix. I can do more push ups at one time than ever before.Β I can do 3 sets of dead lifts (8 reps each) with 80 pounds (40lb dumbbells in each hand!!) and I have (for the most part) cut out all candy bars and fast food from my life . Also, I have maintained my 10 pound weight loss for a year and from what I’ve read, maintaining is the hardest part.

As for any physical transformation, the evil wench in my head can say whatever she wants. I will let the pictures speak for themselves.


The ridiculous muscle pic πŸ˜‰

I’m still not where I want to be. But fitness is supposed to be a lifestyle right? I will keep trying and of course continue blogging. If I continue to lose 10 pounds a year I’ll be at my goal by the time I’m 26. I can handle that.

Thank you to everyone who has followed me throughout this year, who’s offered support, advice and encouragement. It’s true that going public with your weight loss journey is one of the biggest motivators of all. I wouldn’t keep jumping back on the wagon if it wasn’t for you!


13 thoughts on “Fitness Friday-Progress and Thanks

  1. Keep on truckin!!! It’s all about a lifestyle change. Anybody can change their habits for a day, a week, a month even. If it were easy, everyone would do it. But it’s the people that stick to it. That work hard and maintain a high expectation for themselves that succeed. And you ARE succeeding! Keep going!!

    • Thank you! It is definitely hard work but the things that are worth it usually aren’t easy right? It was certainly hard to post “after” pictures that I still wasn’t 100% satisfied with but I think it’s worth it to share progress and stay motivated! Thanks for reading and for the encouragement πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

