This is the End

Today is the last day of Whole30. For twenty-nine days I haven’t had any sugar, pasta, bread, milk, butter, cream, chocolate, cheese, beans, and the list goes on. I slipped up once or twice with things I didn’t realize had sugar in it (coconut flakes, mandarin oranges) but I think that’s to be expected in the beginning. Here is what I discovered, the good and the bad;

I love oranges.
Braeburn Apples are delicious.
Ghee is not as nasty as it looks or sounds.
I could never eat another piece of grilled chicken and that would be ok.
Salads are good, even without dressing.
I had heartburn almost every day.
Besides the heartburn my stomach felt better than it ever has.
I was hungry all the time.
I did not lose a single pound, however, my before and after pictures tell a different story.
I developed acne.
I had more energy than I thought I could have without sugar or caffeine.
I slept through the night.
I felt more alert, mentally and physically.
Would I do it again? Probably not to the extremes they require.

The best part about the whole experience is that I completed it. I followed it through until the end. I didn’t cheat and I didn’t give up.

As far as tomorrow goes, I intend to indulge in the largest piece of cake I can find. I’ll let you know if it tastes as good as I imagine it will.

Sorry I’m not posting my before and after pictures. Bra and underwear pictures on the internet aren’t really my thing.

3 thoughts on “This is the End

  1. Dear Heavens….. JUST found this blog [3-24-2015] and am LOVING it! Write more please….what an INSPIRATION you are !!!

Leave a Reply

