Labels

Yesterday I decided to run to the grocery store to grab a quick lunch. I was going to be in and out of there in no time. All I needed was a can of tuna and an avocado. I went to the aisle with the canned meat and I grabbed my usual “Chicken of the Sea Solid White Albacore Tuna in Water.” Because I am halfway through Whole30 I decided to look at the label to make sure it was compliant. This is what I found,

an ingredients list a mile long. I began looking at the other brands around it and found that the lists were shorter but at the bottom they all read “Contains Soy.” Why exactly does my tuna need to contain soy? I’m not sure. I was expecting to see “Tuna, Water, and Salt” not an entire novel. I then went to the Organic section and spent $3.99 for one can of tuna instead of $1.61 for a can of a million little things.

In the 17 days that I’ve been participating in Whole30 I have noticed this kind of label trickery more and more. For example, honey and molasses are listed instead of sugar even though those ingredients have sugar added to them. Labels that at the bottom say “Contains Wheat” even though there’s nothing wheat related in the ingredients. And then there are the not so hidden ingredients; sugar is the third ingredient in bacon, corn syrup is the third ingredient in Italian Sausage, sugar is the third ingredient in Peanut Butter (or Molasses if it’s “Natural” Peanut Butter). I do not want or need sugar in my bacon, corn syrup in my sausage, molasses in my peanut butter, or soy in my tuna. When I complete Whole30 I will continue to read the labels and spend the extra money to get something with two ingredients instead of ten, because in this case less really is more.

One thought on “Labels

Leave a Reply

