So Much Food

Eating healthy is not easy. The science and research of nutrition contradicts itself over and over again;

“Eggs are bad for you, they’re loaded in cholesterol!!”

“No wait, it’s good cholesterol. Eat more eggs!!”

 

 

 

“Wheat was never meant to be digested by humans and is the cause of multiple diseases! Say no to wheat!”

“Wheat is great for you and loaded in nutrients that fight heart disease, cancer, and so much more. Eat more wheat!!”

 

And on and on it goes. As I said before I’ve been following a very strict meal plan for 2 weeks now. I love it and it’s been very helpful but it’s not meant for forever. I’ve been trying to figure out how I’m going to continue to eat healthy for the rest of my life without having to have a meal plan and without being limited to only certain healthy foods. The articles and research are endless and I just couldn’t read anymore since it was never the same story.

 

The meal plan has helped with discipline, routine and serving size. I intend to follow it for another 2 weeks before adding a few new things that I (and okay some research) have deemed worthy. The new things will be nuts, dark chocolate, milk, sweet potatoes, and lean beef. I have also decided that I will no longer eat bread, pasta, white rice, or any other like products. I don’t necessarily believe that wheat is the route of all evil but I do know that when it comes to loving food there is nothing I love to gorge myself on more than a big bowl of pasta noodles with butter and salt and pepper. Therefore, goodbye carbs, hello raw foods!

 

Raw Vegan Chocolate Espresso Hazelnut Torte @Rawmazing.com

Now I’m going to be honest. On the meal plan  I’ve been following you get 2  consecutive hours in the week to cheat and eat  whatever you want. I intend to keep this for  now but I’m changing it to every other week.  Over time I intend to learn very unique recipes  for desserts that aren’t necessarily good for  you, but they aren’t bad either. I intend to use these as my cheat foods, since all I ever crave  is sweets  (e.g. Triple Chocolate Espresso Hazelnut Frozen Torte). This way, I’m never eating anything too terrible and hopefully will begin to love all things healthy.

 

Shredded Tex-Mex Crock-Pot Chicken Recipe

So far I’ve tried a few new dinner recipes. Tex-Mex Shredded Chicken which I served over Spaghetti Squash. It wasn’t anything to rave about but it did taste good in the salad I had for lunch the next day. I also grilled chicken with a Kickin’ Chicken Seasoning and put it with lima beans, cilantro and some freshly squeezed lime juice which was surprisingly delicious.

 

 

My favorite is the Chicken Fried “Rice”

It’s Cauliflower instead of rice (put the cauliflower in a food processor until it’s the consistency of rice) and coconut oil instead of canola, boneless skinless chicken breasts, carrots, green onions, sesame seeds, and 2 well done fried eggs.

 

 

I’m fortunate that I love to cook and that both my husband and I like trying new things!

2 more weeks until weigh in.
I’m hoping to see 148 instead of 158.
10 pounds in a month is reasonable right?
I’ll just keep walking and eating right and hope to see the results I want!

One thought on “So Much Food

Leave a Reply

